Digital Publishing
2 mins read

The 2021 World Media Awards for international content-driven advertising now open for entry

The 2021 World Media Awards (WMAs) are officially open for entry, offering nine categories to recognise the best in cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising. This year includes a new award for ‘Social Good’, which recognises the potential for brands to combine storytelling with corporate action to influence social change around issues such as sustainability, the environment, poverty, and diversity and inclusion. 

Hosted by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global publishers that promotes award-winning journalism and the role of international media, the WMAs are now in their sixth year and celebrate the collaboration between brands, agencies and media partners to create powerful international content campaigns.

In addition to presenting awards to category winners on the night, the WMAs amplify the winning entries in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than €650k. The winners’ ad campaign runs across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands comprising The Atlantic, Bloomberg Media Group, Business Insider, The Economist, The Financial Times, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Reuters, The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.

“Every year, the WMAs demonstrate the power of international content-driven advertising to tell stories across channels and borders,” said Damian Douglas, President of the World Media Group and Managing Director, EMEA, at TIME. “2020 has given rise to the more socially conscious consumer and we believe brands have a crucial role to play in this new values-led world.”

How to enter: Entry to the WMAs can be found here and is free to advertisers and agencies, although entrants are invited to make a voluntary donation to Reporters Without Borders. The closing date for entries is 20th May 2021.

Categories: This year there are nine award categories open for general entry, along with the Content Leadership & Innovation Award, which invites nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from amongst the category winners, as follows:

  • Automotive
  • Brand & Media Owner Partnership
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Lifestyle & Luxury
  • Media & Entertainment
  • Technology & Telecoms
  • Travel & Tourism
  • Social Good 

Awards event: The winners will be announced at an exclusive live ceremony (or a virtual event, should Covid restrictions necessitate it) on Thursday 9th September 2021. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.